HTML5 Introduction

What is New in HTML5?

HTML5 is the latest revised version of HTML. In October 2014, the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) completed standard development.

HTML5 is designed to support multimedia on mobile devices.

HTML5 is easy to learn.

<!DOCTYPE html>

The character encoding (charset) presentation is additionally very simple:

<meta charset="UTF-8">

HTML5 Example:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<meta charset="UTF-8">
<title>Title of the document</title>

Content of the document......


New HTML5 Elements

HTML5 is the result of a collaboration between the W3C and WHATWG, which refers to the Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group.

WHATWG focuses on web forms and applications, while W3C focuses on XHTML 2.0. In 2006, the two parties decided to collaborate to create a new version of HTML.

Some interesting new features in HTML5:

  • Canvas element for painting
  • video and audio elements for media playback
  • Better support for local offline storage
  • New special content elements, such as article, footer, header, nav, section
  • New form controls, such as calendar, date, time, email, url, search

New HTML5 API's (Application Programming Interfaces)

The most fascinating new API's are:

  • HTML Geolocation
  • HTML Drag and Drop
  • HTML Local Storage
  • HTML Application Cache
  • HTML Web Workers

Elements Removed in HTML5

The following HTML4 components have been expelled from HTML5:

Element Use instead
<acronym> <abbr>
<applet> <object>
<basefont> CSS
<big> CSS
<center> CSS
<dir> <ul>
<font> CSS
<strike> CSS
<tt> CSS

HTML History

Since the beginning of the web, there have been numerous adaptations of HTML:

Version Year
Tim Berners-Lee developed www 1989
Tim Berners-Lee developed HTML 1991
Dave Raggett drafted HTML+ 1993
HTML Working Group characterized HTML 2.0 1995
W3C Recommended HTML 3.2 1997
W3C Recommended HTML 4.01 1999
W3C Recommended XHTML 1.0 2000
HTML5 WHATWG First Public Draft 2008
HTML5 WHATWG Living Standard 2012
HTML5 W3C Final Recommendation 2014

Tim Berners-Lee developed the "World Wide Web" in 1989, and the Internet took off in the 1990s.

From 1991 to 1998, HTML created from adaptation 1 to rendition 4. 

In 2000, the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) suggested XHTML 1.0. 

The XHTML linguistic structure was strict, and the engineers were compelled to compose substantial and "well-formed" code.

In 2004, WHATWG (Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group) was framed in light of moderate W3C improvement, and W3C's choice to shut down the advancement of HTML, for XHTML.

WHATWG needed to create HTML, steady with how the web was utilized, while being in reverse good with more seasoned renditions of HTML.

In the period 2004-2006, the WHATWG activity picked up help by the major program vendors.

In 2006, W3C declared that they would bolster WHATWG.

In 2008, the first HTML5 open draft was released.

In 2012, WHATWG and W3C settled on a separation:

WHATWG will create HTML as a "Living Standard".

A expectation for everyday comforts is never completely total, yet dependably refreshed and improved. New highlights can be included, however old usefulness can not be removed.

W3C will build up a conclusive HTML5 and XHTML5 standard, as a "snapshot" of WHATWG.

The W3C HTML5 recommendation was discharged 28 October 2014.

HTML5 form

New form elements, new attributes, new input types, automatic validation.

Element removed

The following HTML 4.01 elements have been removed in HTML5:

  • <acronym>
  • <applet>
  • <basefont>
  • <big>
  • <center>
  • <dir>
  • <font>
  • <frame>
  • <frameset>
  • <noframes>
  • <strike>

HTML5 uses CSS3

  • New selector
  • New attributes
  • Animation
  • 2D /3D conversion
  • Round corners
  • Shadow effect
  • Downloadable fonts